In a world filled with significant challenges, owning pets, and especially owning costly, resource-consuming dogs, is an irresponsible use of time and money.

Write a response in which you discuss how much you agree or disagree with the claim and include the most compelling reasons and/or examples that someone could use to dispute your point of view.

As technology develops and the life condition of human-beings ameliorates, more and more animals, especially those dogs that are surrounded by city life are getting endangered. Some people, zoologists, and other experts have suggested that owing pets, especially dogs squander the time and money of the owners. They also might express that this is an illegal action. But while the impulse behind this idea is understandable and admirable, in the end it is not an irresponsible concept.

From the point of view of a scholar, the reason for not keeping animals might be that they carry diseases which can be catch by human and are known as human-animal diseases. According to the center for diseases control and protection, animals like wild reptiles can carry dangerous diseases without showing any symptoms. Therefore, ten thousands of people can get infections each year from wild animals. Besides, a wide range of people believe that when animals are kept in private homes, far from their natural habitants, they lose their natural abilities such as hunting or breeding. Furthermore, many argue that instead of taking care of animals and lavishing our precious time and money on them, pet owners must spend their properties on families and people who need care. Nevertheless, do these arguments show that we should not keep animals because they waste our time and money? I want to present some strong reasons to conclude that the answer is no.

First of all, dog-owning can be a positive and life changing event. Considered as human’s best friends since always, dogs are the most loyal friends and their love to their owners knows no limit and bounds. They company with humans and help unconditionally to their owners and families.

Second reason might be that owning a pet requires a great deal of responsibility and needs proper care and attention too. There are different studies that show how owning a dog can boost responsibility and compassion. Having said that, from grooming to their diet, the owner must take care of everything and must treat them as a member of the family.

Lastly, some scientists believe that owning a pet improves mental health. A recent study found that even the simple act of watching your dog sleeping or playing in your garden can lower the blood pressure and heart rate. In this way, stress disappears and humans feel more relaxed and blessed. Moreover, gazing into a dog’s eyes, releases oxygen in both humans and dogs which is the feel-good hormone responsible for euphoria.

In general, of course there are some vital activities such as feeding hungers and spending money on taking care of elderly people or orphans. But reviewing the positive reasons that are listed above, convinces us to own a dog and experience the love and other fascinating moments with them which leads to our mental and physical health.