All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Nowadays, we live in a globalized world in which everyone is trying to communicate with others in a foreign country. To tackle with language barriers, it is almost universally accepted fact that children should be able to speak a foreign language. However, there are different arguments for and against teaching a foreign language to school students as soon as they start school. It seems to me that learning a foreign language in early years of life have several advantages which leads to higher achievements in future life.

The benefits of learning a foreign language as a child appear to be overwhelmingly positive. The main reason is that acquiring a new language for a child is easier than adults. Experts have shown that through the age of 5-7, children can learn to speak another language with fluent grammar and without accent. A further reason is the ability of learning in children. Researchers have indicated that human’s brain have high capacity in language acquisition in early ages. As they get older, this capacity diminishes significantly. Furthermore, children who have learned a foreign language perform better in their native language. These range from better comprehension skills to reading and writing skills. Likewise, language education is critical for the workforce. Therefore, children who are monolingual can find better job opportunities in future work life.

Admittedly, it is true that there are other skills which are also important to learn such as mathematics and science. Nevertheless, as discussed earlier, learning a new language can help to boost these skills, since it is challenging and enhances the brain’s ability.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that children should learn new languages as soon as possible because they are more likely to understand new things.