Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons. Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

In today’s technology-focused world, there are various claims regarding boarding schools. Some might argue that these schools benefit children from different points of view. However, always opponents can be found with this polemical issue. This essay deals with arguments on both sides of this controversial view.

On the one hand, those who are in favor of the idea of boarding schools express their view cogently. It is widely accepted that these schools build a long life friendship between pupils. Children who live together feel family bonds with their friends and receive both emotional and educational support from their classmates. Furthermore, boarding schools offer extra classes in the evenings, and they have a wide range of facilities such as swimming pools, gyms, and etc. The last but not the least advantage is bolstering students’ independence. Because of living far from home, children learn to do their quotidian routine independent and without the help of their parents. Hence, they tend to be more confident.

On the other hand, those who are against this issue have reasons that can not be ignored. Firstly, in spite of the fact that children sustain a great relationship with their friends, they usually feel homesick, which leads to being socially isolated. Secondly, although these schools present ample amenities, annual costs are high, and all families can not afford the expenses of them. Finally, students in boarding schools often tackle bullying problems. A victim who usually belongs to first-year classes suffers from the abuse of older ones. Therefore, this abuse will cause adverse psychological effects on victims.

By conclusion, it is logical to advise that parents should choose the type of school considering the interests and abilities of their children to prevent the unfavorable problems of boarding schools.