Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In today’s technology-focussed world, illiteracy is one of the much-discussed issues in every developed county. There seem to be several major causes of this problem which leads to negative impacts both on individuals and societies. This essay will deal with the causes and effects of this controversial issue and give a conclusion.

There are many causes held responsible for this issue. Possibly the main cause is the poverty and high education fees. It is stated that poverty and child-labour work hand in hand. When people are poor and have large families, to overcome hardships, they are forced to send their children to work instead of school. Moreover, because of high expenses of education, these children could not afford to purchase books and stationeries. Another well-known reason is difficult living conditions especially in rural areas. In many countries, rural areas lack educational facilities. Having said that majority of rustic children prefer to stay with their families and help them instead of travelling to cities and attending schools.

Turning to possible effects, individuals and society are impacted by illiteracy. First of all, to consider the effects on individuals, because of competitive job market, they can not find well paying jobs. Therefore, they can not support their families and it results in to poverty. A further widely observed impact is on the development of a country. Illiterate people weaken the country’s progress and educational status. Due to the lack of skills and insufficient knowledge, they can be a huge burden on the country.

Overall, it is logical to conclude that poverty and difficult living conditions are the main causes, and they affect both individuals and the whole country.