Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's fast paced world, the definition of success has become very dynamic. Achievements come in various forms. The youth of today most likely have more options and areas to pursue than they sometimes can manage. For instance, a modern-day college student has a plethora of different career paths she can take. This abundance of alternatives, however, also create a little dilemma for a fledgling person. Whether to think for the long haul, plan their lives right up to retirement, or try to go big the moment they get a chance. The prompt recommends the former, and suggests that young people should concern themselves with the long-term, and not going for momentary goals, that might lead to immense but ephemeral prosperity. I mostly disagree with it, and argue that doing so is circumscribing oneself from attaining their full potential, professionally.

First, I believe that the differentiation in the prompt, between 'realistic goals', and 'immediate recognition' is somewhat artificial. A career choice that can bring immediate fame, can also lay the foundation for a perennial, fruitful career. For example, a college student, who's an aspiring filmmaker, might have to choose between straight up making a film, or to enroll in a film class, perhaps take it up as a major. Both will require a significant financial investment, and both the choices will confirm the student's entry into the industry as a filmmaker. However, enrolling in a college course to get to where you want to be is what most would call a 'realistic goal', while foraging into the real world with no experience or education, the opposite. Nevertheless, there is certainly a chance that the project is successful, and the film is well-received, establishing the student as a filmmaker. Paul Thomas Anderson, a well revered filmmaker in world cinema, did exactly that at a very young age. It would be futile to think now about what could have happened, had he continued college.

In looking to build a safer career, the youth may end up taking up a profession that does not align with their core interests at all. This will lead to job dissatisfaction, which in turn, is guaranteed to result into reduced working efficiency, and general discontent in life. For instance, a young student may be advised by her parents, or teachers, to take up a career path, that would bring her long-term success. This, however, may come at the expense of having to give up her original aspirations, which may be wildly different from what she is going to do for the rest of her life, simply because they are thought to only bring fleeting success, which may not even be entirely true. Thus, following your interests may come with the dual of the reward of attaining an immensely satisfying professional life, and the risk of not making it big, but it always allows you to have responsibility of your own decisions, and will surely teach you a thing or two about life.

It can be argued, though, that planning for the long-haul, not taking risks, allows you to lead a life, where you will have greater and more opportunities to express yourself outside your professional bounds, which are the primary motivations to pursue short-term goals earlier in your life anyway. While I agree that this argument has weight, I still believe that engineering a safe career should not come at the expense of letting go of your greater aspirations while you're young, which is precisely the time when you're most likely to succeed. Thus, I hold the position that there are few reasons to hold yourself back from trying to make it big at a time in your life, when you're most likely to actually to do it, and will lead to a greatly prosperous life.