The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.What are the causes of this continued rise?Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

According to a survey, there is an alarming rise in the world’s population. Some people assume that the continued rise in the world’s population is the biggest problem faced by humanity currently. I agree to this statement to a certain extent as I believe some people may find other problems to be the greatest problems faced by them.

In my opinion, I think the reason that leads to this continued increase is due to the cultural practice. In the past, it is common that people think the more offspring they have, the better the family is. This is probably because old-fashioned people feel that after a couple getting married, they should give births. One point worth to mention is that their mind-set has always been thinking that a boy is more valuable than a girl. If their first offspring is a baby girl, they will continue to give birth until they get a boy. Although it is an old-fashioned mind-set, many parents still have this type of thinking even at the present moment.

The other reason which I think can lead to the increasing in world’s population is because there are some countries which are facing a lower number of population. This has brought to the government’s policy to subsidize low-income level families to give birth. This means the more the children a family has, the more subsidies they will get. The subsidies given by the government could be the expenses on medical care and education. Apart from that, grants made to the families will also be the encouragement for the family to give birth.

Nonetheless, from my point of view, this is not the only major problem faced by humanity at the present moment. The other biggest problem that could be faced by the people is the hiking of unemployment rate. This issue is not a newly discussed issue as it has been the headline if many newspapers and magazines for innumerable times. The factor for the occurrence of unemployment rate is due to people find it hard to survive if they work in their home country simply because the salary is too low for them to cover their daily expenditure. In addition, the fresh graduates of Medicine courses could not get a housemanship placement in a public hospital as the government says ‘Doctors have been too many in this country’.

In conclusion, it could not be denied that the biggest problem faced by humanity at the present time is the continued increase in the number of people around the globe based on some people’s perspective. However, I personally think that another biggest problem that is faced by the society is the increase in unemployment rate. This could be a worrying issue as the country will lose its future leaders and talents when more and more people migrate to other countries.