Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The human society consists of thousands of languages and cultures as showed by sociological findings. However, a number of languages vanished every year, which has not been taken seriously. Because people believe that fewer languages can make their lives much easier. From my perspective, I am in favour of this argument.

Firstly, fewer languages can promote the world economy greatly. This is particularly true in the developing countries, where the local governors are no longer needed to learn different languages to communicate with investors for the sake of financial programmes. A widely used communication tool, such as English has become the official language of some places, thus enabling more overseas groups to fund the local infrastructures without having misunderstandings.

Secondly, the disappearance of lingual diversity means less cultural discriminations and social conflicts. People with different backgrounds are more likely to accept other religions and customs if they all speak a common language, which reduces the possibility of having prejudice. For example, for being able to speak Mandarin, the American people now understand how to treat Chinese people in the way they enjoy, such as exchanging lavish gifts, even though it is not customary to do so in the Western society.

There are, however, a few problems that are associated with this approach. Once the society accepts the notion of having fewer languages, then the advantage of those who are bilingual will become less evident. In other words, what they have learnt could end up being wasted. More importantly, language schools may on the brink of bankruptcy alongside with the redundant teachers. Nevertheless, this probably could be addressed by future strategic initiatives.

In conclusion, although the implementation of this approach is still a long way off, I do believe that this can benefit the progression of human society constructively. As the purpose of having languages is to connect people together and to share information.