Individual greed and selfishness has been the basis of the modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and thelocal community in order to create a better world to live in. To wha

The prosperity of the modern world has been largely built by people aspiring to personal achievement. It is argued that people today are consequently becoming greedy and selfish, so it would be better to restore the value of family and community. I partially agree with this view.

There would be some positive impacts, admittedly, if more emphasis is placed on family and community. Firstly, the distorted notion of success, which should cover the material as well as the spiritual side of life, would be likely to be redressed. Greed and selfishness are often a result of measuring success only o...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.