The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think this is due to problems such as the growing number of fast food outlets. Others believe that parents are to blame for not looking after their children's health.

In developed countries, the problem of obesity among children is evident not only due to spread of fast food shops but also for the unawareness of parents about children's health. According to my view, parents are responsible for children's food habit and their health problems rather than junk food outlet.

First and foremost, parents play a key role in building a child's food habit including healthy and nutritious food in their daily meal. However, they are becoming too busy with their career to feed their kids homemade healthy food and substitute it with tasty unhealthy junk food. Consequently, some children have adapted a habit of eating fast food instead of regular nutritious food and they persuade their parents to have them at any means which results obesity. In addition, parents are not concerned about the food value of these oily fatty foods in time of choosing these for their children as well as they are unaware to convey the knowledge of health to their children emphasizing the negative impact of having fast food. Moreover, kids follow their parents and parents eating habit of having junk food. For instance, family where fast food is eaten in every day, the regular food may not taste good to the children.

On the other hand, supply creates its own demand. Since fast food is easily accessible and affordable, the trend of having these foods has augmented among children. Children are becoming obsessed to have oily junk food disobeying their parent command of avoiding them. Subsequently, the availability of mouth watering, unhealthy fast food outlet allures the young people as well as children incurring many health problems including obesity.

To sum up, parents supposed to take initiative to amend the food habit of their children to curb the problem of obesity which could be root of many other serious health problems.