People are now living longer than ever before and many old people are unable to look after themselves. Some people believe that it is responsibility of families to look after the elderly, while others say governments should provide retirement homes for them where they can be looked after properly. DISCUSS.

In today’s world, life expectancy has increased significantly because of medical invention and better lifestyle. As a result, the number of elders has increased rapidly in many countries and a lot of elders are unable to live by themselves. Some people think that taking care older people is a duty of family, while other people argue that the state should take this responsibility by providing all health services to the old. Both sides are interesting issues that need to be discussed carefully.

To begin with, many people, who think the government needs to support all helps for aged citizens, argue that aged people already paid tax to the city for a long time and they should have their right to deserve all supplements. Free health services, sufficient pensions and retirement homes those should be provided to the old by the government. If the city can take this responsibility, it will help all aged citizens improve their life to be much healthier and happier in their retirement. They do not have to live in their own and do everything be themselves.

On the other hand, it is obviously true that the duty of taking care elders is family. All elders have scarified half of their life in order to fulfill all the requirements of their offspring. Therefore, when they get older family members should look after their elders. Providing basic treatments and looking after all elders should be done in every family. If these old people live in their own with surrounding family, they will feel more satisfied and embraced in their retirement rather than living with all strangers in nurseries.

In conclusion, both sides and their family should take appropriate steps to support the aged people so they can live peacefully in their last years life.