The rising level of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.

Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

Nowadays traffic jams and air pollution have been increased considerably because of the fact that people prefer their own automobiles to public transport. This essay deals with some remedies for promoting the usage of public transport.

To begin with, one of the causes, which make people reluctant to use public transport, is shortage of vehicles and people have to wait for a long time in stations. The authorities should be responsible to rise the number of vehicles such as coaches, trains, and so forth. Take for example a city that the folk, especially commuters, do not have to waste their precious time to stand in queues to get on the coaches or the trains and everybody could get his or her destination promptly. As a result the people's incentives for taking public transport would be risen and people would be more eager to decline the usage of their personal automobiles.

Another solution that deserves consideration is that the welfare of passengers should be a main priority and everybody had better be at ease in vehicles. For instance the existence of air conditioning, appearance of vehicles, and quality of seats could be substantially effective to engross people. Consequently, passengers would be unwilling to use their own vehicles in favor of public transport.

Last but not least, it would be an admirable policy if the government covered the cost of public transport. Because it would motivate people from all walks of life to use public transport. Besides, I personally reckon that the treatment of some diseases such as heart attack, which could be the outcome of air pollution, is much more expensive than generating free public transport. To put it another way, prevention is better that cure. Furthermore, some problems such as air pollution and heavy traffic could be improved. Also people could get their destinations for free.

To put it in a nutshell, despite the fact the tendency of people for using their own automobiles rather than public transport has induced air pollution and traffic jams, some remedies could enhance the situation.