Should atrs-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public or should a charge apply for admittance?

In the recent decades, the public awareness toward the importance of art has increased dramatically to the extent that the art galleries and venues have become overcrowded throughout the year. Many art experts have suggested to allow the public to attend without paying any amount of money, however others disagree. Personally I believe that any entertainment matter or event should be paid, especially those with artistic values.

On the one hand, people who think that art has a social value and one of the national wealth, suggest making art venues and galleries free of charge. The main reason for that is to encourage the public to be more connected to their community and motivate them to appreciate the national traditions and values. While if artistic affairs were paid, most of men and women would prefer cinemas, theatres and stadiums to art galleries. Hence museums and art venues should be free of charge.

On the other hand, many economists and businessmen are struggling to apply fees on admittance to art galleries. If a precious thing became free of charge, it would lose its value, because people generally have tendency toward expensive matters as a recent psychological study has shown. Furthermore, applying a charge on admittance to art venues will provide a source of income for the country. Therefore, making admittance to art galleries and venues payable would both rise the value of the art and improve the country’s economy.

To conclude, applying a charge for attending to museums and art galleries has been a matter of debate. While making them free of charge would encourage some people to be more connected with it, it will lose its value among the public and would cost the country more money rather than providing it. Because of that, I strongly support the idea of applying fees for admittance museums and art galleries.