Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion

Although it is commonly believed that governments should not charge for visiting art galleries and museums, other people think that there should be entrance fees for the citizens. From my perspective, there should be no admission charges to the public to visit these venues.

On the one hand, it is often thought that museums and galleries should have no entrance fees and I agree. In other words, making the visits to cultural museums and historical monuments free would give the chance to destitute people to acknowledge their heritages as they do not earn enough money to pend on these stuffs. In addition, free trips should be organized by educational institutions; therefore, the children would get to know about their invaluable patrimony. Take some museums in Vietnam as a prime example, there is no fee to visit these museums for children under 18. As a consequence, the youth can come and see this proud symbol of freedom.

On the other hand, it is considered by some that museums and art galleries should charge visitors. This means that art-related venues, if they are free, people will simply not understand the importance of it. Subsequently, the primary idea of promoting arts may be lost. Many people, for instance, come to some art galleries just to spend time with their friends; therefore, people who truly want to discover the paintings may constantly be distracted by those who come for entertainment. Adding further, entrance fees help art venues to cover running costs. More specifically, any museum has a great number of maintenance expenses such as cleaning, air-conditioning, paying salaries and regularly painting.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that visits to museums and art galleries shoube be free for the general public since government should provide equal opportunity to every class to see and proud of their culture, even though funds are required to maintain and preserve the fine artworks.