Some countries achieve international success, building specialized sports facilities for top athletes to train instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Positive or negative?

Sports play an important role not only in making the human's body healthier but also enhancing social relationships. In many countries, the governments invest in professional facilities for elite athletes, thus, some critics claim that it is a waste of tax because it is helpless for the whole population’s health. I disagree with this view.

First of all, it is indispensable to using specialised sports facilities if one athlete wants to become world-class. For example, a professional swimmer cannot practice in a public swimming pool as it is crowded and the water is polluted. Only the specific pool can make him or her increase the swimming skills.

Secondly, better training facilities and scientific plan can help athletes have better performance in the international stages, and this will create a sense of patriotism. For example, every Olympic Games my family gets together to watch the matches, if athletes from our nation beat all the other players, we will all feel proud and love our country more.

Thirdly, international sports success also encourages citizens to exercise. For example, China is famous for their excellent table tennis performance. Many Chinese people have been watching these ping-pong players winning a number of medals over these years. As a result, this sport has become one of the most popular sport in the whole country.

However, a huge amount of investment in specialised facilities leads to fewer budgets in general ones. This may discourage general public to take part in sports. They have to pay extra money to visit commercial sports places rather than government-provided, low-cost ones.

In conclusion, to train elite athletes can bring up numerous benefits to the country, thus providing specialised sports facilities is worthy. But sports investment for the general public is also necessary.