Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning a foreign language is undoubtedly very important in children's lives. There are plenty of different opinions and people frequently argue about when is it better to start learning a new language - at primary school or at secondary school. In my opinion, the benefits of learning a foreign language at a younger age outweigh the drawbacks for a several reasons.

Firstly, the ability to learn something new and to remember it is more likely when children are younger because when they start doing something for the first time, for instance skiing or riding a bicycle it is easier for them to understand it and after they grow up they will be really good at doing it. It is the same with a new language - if youngsters start learning the basics at a younger age they will know it better when they grow up.

Secondly, knowing a different language is a gift and is extremely important because in the modern society if you cannot speak at least two languages you don't have a good chances of success. Every manager or director want to have intelligent and capable people in their team so knowing foreign language open a number of doors for people who speak various languages.

My last point is that learning a foreign language at primary school school is an opportunity not only because it helps youngsters to become broad-minded but also because teach them to think more and to learn a number of new things about different cultures. Likewise, progression of the younger generation is bigger and they would have frequent job opportunities and chance to learn.

By and large, I undoubtedly believe that waiting for children do go at secondory school and then to start studying a foreign language is unacceptable. Definitely, it would be much harder for them to understand it, besides if they begin learning a new language at primary school it is more likely until they go to secondary school to know already a number of words and rules.