Some experts believe that it is better for Children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

According to some educators, children who begin learning a foreign language at primary school, are more beneficial than those who learning at secondary school. I maintain that their opinion is valid, because of these two following reasons.

Firstly, as we all know that young children, compared to teenagers, are very receptive to learning a new language. They are willing and able to mimic pronounciation without the inhibitions and self-consiciousness of older students. They enjoy playing with the language and pick it up very quickly. Their sensitive ears help them pick up on and duplicate tricky sounds that adults, and even adolescents, often stumble over.

Furthermore, in primary schools, children typically spend the whole day with one class teacher who covers the whole curriculum. This is ideal for foreign language learning as teachers can exploit many opportunities to integrate foreign language into everyday classroom routines and into other lessons. A class teacher who teaches everything, including the foreign language, helps reinforce the hidden message that ‘everyone can do it.’

In conclusion, i believe that it is best to start early when it comes to learning a foreign language and the ideal place to start learning is primary school.