Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

In today’s material world we are inundated with various forms of advertising and the problem as to which methods are admissible in its creation is of concern for many people. Some of them express their approval on unlimited variety of tools can be used by advertisers whereas other individuals claim that our community should be free from any form of violence, cruelty and immorality, especially in advertisements. From my point of view, I am convinced of the latter view owing to the following reasons.

To begin with, pouring money in advertising is a crucial factor that every company do to make their business prosperous and profitable. It must be conceded that people as a target audience are of great importance because the downturn or upturn in sales of a certain product depends on their decision to buy it or not. For that reason advertisers try to do their best to show their product handy and indispensable sometimes violating ethical norms. For example, Audi once showed an advertisement in which there was humorous comparison of car power and invalid chair. Although there was no ulterior motive that promo was considered inadmissible by reason of immorality.

Secondly, in marketing there is a common belief that if you want people to spend their money on something you are offering, try to make their children interested in it by the inclusion in the advertisement cartoon characters or kids. Therefore , some promo makers in the pursuit of profit involve children in their business making them work the whole day long gratuitously not bothering about their age and working potential. It should also be stated that in most democratic countries child labor is forbidden.

All things considered, it seems to me that even if in the advertisement there is a deviation from generally recognized norms its is the government’s responsibility to carry out a strict supervision of such activity and close down those who allow in their advertisement the immoral element.