Some people argue history has nothing to tell while others argue knowing about it can help in the present . Discuss both the views.

The issue regarding the importance of history among general people has a divisive effect on the society. While some believe it is almost futile, my belief is acknowledgement of various aspects of history can contribute to acquisition of knowledge desirable or even important for mankind. This essay will discuss both the views and lead to a reasoned conclusion.

People against the favour of benefits of history to mankind tend to put forth their views on the basis of obsolete nature of the values followed in the past. Undoubtedly, the settings and the plots that existed in earlier ages differ immensely from what we face nowadays. Because of the great success achieved by human rights movements, almost all aspects of human life have been rehabilitated significantly. In Nepal, for instance, people raising their voice against the government authorities were exhaled from the country, and in extreme cases even executed. This approach has no place in the twenty-first century, where freedom to speech is taken as a basic human right. Hence, measures followed in history are no less than outdated at the moment.

Despite the aforementioned viewpoints, there are certainly some advantages of historical events' knowledge. Firstly, appreciation of some really outstanding precedents set by our leaders in the past can supplement some areas of politics, even now. The way, for instance, Late King Prithivi Narayan Shah conquered small kingdoms and united into a whole nation 'NEPAL' can be taken as an inspiration to build and perpetuate international integration, at present. Next, being aware of history can ignite a sense of patriotism among the citizens, and also maintain the sense of belonging to a particular community. Eventually, this tends to make each individuals more rounded as a person. Therefore, concept of history is no less important than being updated with recent occurrences.

In summary, although some aspects in history may thwart to be consistent with the present circumstances and needs, knowledge about historical events can still contribute to mankind if appreciated scrupulously.