Some people prefer to live in a house, while others feel that there are more advantages to live in an apartment. Are there more advantages than disadvantages of living in a house compared with living in an apartment?

With the increasing variety of buildings, people now have the opportunity to choose the type of their accommodations. There are two types in general: houses and apartments. Different people may have different preferences and I will explore the advantages and disadvantages of both.

The biggest advantage of a house is that it provides enough space for a big family, where everyone can have his or her own room. There may be a frontyard or a backyard which can be used as a playground for the family, especially children. Apart from this, houses are usually built in an open ground and are not far from each other; therefore, neighbourhoods can play games together around houses, thus building good connections. However, living in a house means a hard time doing maintaining and dusting, which can cause extra expenditure of time and money. So living in a house may not be an economical choice in this respect.

On the other hand, an apartment, although not spacious, can offer enough rooms for young adults who are busy with their careers and who do not have a child. Courtyard is not a necessity for them since they may not spend too much time staying at home and are used to go to bars and clubs for entertaining. Moreover, an apartment is much more affordable than a house for ordinary people in terms of finance by paying a mortgage. The disadvantage is that, unlike a house, people living in an apartment have to climb stairs or to wait for the lift, which can cause inconvenience, both physically and psychologically. Also, people have little communication with neighbours who live next door as they simply close the door after returning home.

Overall, neither type is perfect and it can be said that the advantages of a house are the disadvantages of an apartment, and vice versa. People can only find a suitable accommodation by taking account of their practical conditions and future plans.