Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People who commit any sort of crime pay for that being closed in a prison for a certain time, depends on the severity of the crime. The penalty can be long as their life and in some country, it can reach the death penalty.

The existence of the prisons is not only to make a place safer keeping the dangerous people closed in a prison, but it should work also for rehabilitation of the individuals who wrong committing any crime and let them understand in what they have done.

The prison as a penalty should also discourage people committing crimes and for this reason, it's someone opinion that longer prison sentences can be a better deterrent to avoid people acting bad.

Someone else instead think about some other ways of reducing crime like for example a better education, especially during the youth, or teaching a community sense to the people. Having experience in social work for example during extra class education, can make people feel more part of a community than single individuals.

Reducing crime is a real and complex problem that affect every kind of community and society all around the world and the solution isn't so easy to find. Longer prison sentences or alternative ways can be applied separately or in a mixing combination.