Some people think that governments should provide subsidies to farmers to produce cheap healthy food. Others think that governments should tax companies producing unhealthy foods. Give your own opinion and examples.

In the modern working environment, many prefer to take unhealthy food such as fast food to save time due to their busy schedules. Therefore, people thinks that authorities should provide financial aid to farmers to help in producing affordable and nutritious food and in contrast, enforce tax to organisation that produce processed and manufacturing food. I strongly agreed that farmers need more support from authorities in the agriculture industry.

First and foremost, being able to assist the farmers would highly benefit the welfare of community. The importance of healthy and affordable food has been increase focus in the society as we are moving towards achieving healthy lifestyle. Financial aid can assist farmers to expand their field area and introduce various produces. Besides that, they would be able to deal directly with buyers without getting ripped off by middle man as they have better control in quality and quantity of produces. Take for instance, the Thailand royal family has introduced the "King and Princess Agriculture Project" where in their first stage, they funded $3million Thai Baht increase the production of fruit and vegetable. Within 3months, the production and availability of fruit and vegetable in Thailand rise by 80%.

Secondly, policymakers can reduce the production of unhealthy foods and take this opportunity to raise community awareness on the importance of the type of food intake by enforcing tax to companies that produce unhealthy food. The enforcement will cause upsurge in processed food prices and in turn, community will turn to cheaper alternatives. There is an ample evidence that this resulted in a positive outcome. In Australia, the government move to applied 5% increase in tax to fast food sector like McDonalds and KFC have shown a drift of 50% reduction in consumption of fast food.

In conclusion, the government is the main leader and can act as a powerful catalyst to direct its community towards healthier lifestyle by changing the pattern of their current food intake. The health of the people is vital to determine the future of its countries.