Some people think reading books is more useful in developing young people’s language skills and imagination than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree.(revised version)

After the childhood, young people will become keen on acquiring new skills and knowledge. Therefore, it has been suggested that reading books is better than being exposed to TV in terms of language learning and creative thinking. From my perspective, I tend to agree with the statement, although the positive of TV need to be closely considered.

Firstly, inexperienced learners are able to learn the latest terminologies and daily language through watching TV. Since viewers can record the content and practise the pronunciation, especially for those who are studying a second language. However, reading books appears to offer greater studying results. All content in books is written by linguistics or authors who are a higher level of literacy. There is a guarantee for the accuracy of words and grammar. For example, checking the dictionary seems to be the oldest but most effective way to understand the meaning of a word. Therefore, reading a book would help young readers to grasp correct language skills. Of course, the more they read the more improvements they will have.

Secondly, young people are intending to watch more TV than before because of visual-effect of the programs, such as movies which gives them vividly viewing experience. However, this is a passive activity that human brains would remain inactive. Because all content is pre-set and modified, leaving little room for imagination. In contrast, books may enable them to reach this goal instead. It is nature to stimulate their imaginations when the given information is ambiguous. For instance, a simple introduction of a novel that appeals readers to guess, enabling their brains to be more actively. Particularly for younger generations, whose imagination skills will develop quicker if they study all kinds of books compared to other age groups.

In conclusion, even though the exposure of television programs would be a entertaining learning experience, I would concede that reading books makes one learn professionally and think creatively