There is an increasing use of few languages in the world, while other languages are decreasing in use. What is the positive and negative development in this scenario? You are required to share the reasons by giving examples, and your personal experience.

In today's globalized world, common languages are essential to exchange information between countries and cultures in a friendly manner. This led to wide usage of few languages such as Arabic, Spanish, Chinese and especially English. There are obvious benefits to this, but the cultural ramifications should not be ignored.

Firstly, the use of one major language as a bridge language is desirable because it enhances cross-culture communication. It presents a clear, accessible standard for everyone to follow be it in movies, books, academic, publications or the internet. For example, if i know the Chinese language, i can easily make Chinese friends though online and learn as much as i can from them.

Secondly, if a country to become globally competitive either in business or the labor market, then it is vital for it to understand and utilize the dominant international language. In my part of world, you will not make any progress in career or business without English because software development and corporate communications are mostly conducted in this language. A business might be succeed locally without it, but to grow in the international market will be curtailed.

However, the dwindling usage or even extinction of many minor languages is an unfortunate result of this phenomenon. This happens when less and less people speak their mother tongue because of extremely concentrating on second language. This is unfortunate because language death means loss of cultural identity. For instance, current generation kids in my city do not have basic knowledge on their mother language. In fact, they are not enjoying few festivals which are tied with mother tongue. As as result, they are slowly loosing their tradition and culture.

To sum up, governments should take steps to preserve their native languages and dialects by funding to the learning institutions. Individuals should continue using their mother tongue and take pride in their distinct cultural heritage.