As the world’s supply of oil and natural gas continue to diminish, governments are constantly seeking alternatives to traditional energy resources, such as nuclear power. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The issue of searching alternatives to limited resources of gas and oil are widely discussed around the world. Some feel that even diminished mineral deposits are enough for our generation, while others disagree. In my opinion, the second approach is more beneficial both for our society and future generations.

It is estimated that the amount of Earth resources can meet all the needs of people nowadays. It is an encouraging news for all of us, but what about our grandchildren? Is it a positive approach to care only about ourselves? We must acknowledge that such an attitude would be irresponsible towards next generations.

The scientist are looking for alternatives to energy resources which are being used now, and nuclear, solar and wind powers are among them. I am 100% for using solar and winter powers, but I am against using nuclear one. The tragedy in Chernobyl nuclear power plant must be a dangerous warning not only for governments, but for all of us as well. Although it happened in Ukraine, nuclear clouds spread all over Europe. Hundreds of innocent people became its victims. Some of them died, the others left their homes for ever, because the radiation level was incompatible with further living there.

Undoubtedly, that using the power of sun and wind is friendlier for the environment. We will be able to preserve the breathtaking beauty of our land, its forests, valleys and lakes. Another reason is that these sources of energy are cheap. It is true that many citizens complain about unaffordable electricity prices. For instance, our bill for electricity for the past 3 months amounted $500. Newspapers write about a lot of houses in Queensland which were cut from electricity because of unpaid bills. The last, but not the least reason is that wind and solar energy sources are eternal. What can be a greater reason for using them? Australia should become a pioneer in this field thanks to the number of annual sunny days in our country. It is a great natural advantage which has to be used for the benefits of millions.

Overall, governments should invest more money into development of solar and wind energy, as the prospects in this area are promising.