Write about the following topic:

Computers and modems have made it possible for office workers to do much of their work from home instead of working in offices every day. Working from home should be encouraged as it is good for workers and employers.

Do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, the vast expansion of information and communication technology has made widely practical for teleworking. Although in many cases of office workers could be made geographically independent by using modems, computers, faxes, cell phones and Bluetooth, few companies and employees take full advantages of this possibility.

There are a number of arguments in favor of allowing workers to work from home. Firstly, costs of employment would be reduced. Secondly, employees would feel convenient and could provide the higher standard of job achievements. The worker’s life would be improved in a variety ways, because employees would not need to travel to work, which would give them more free time. Finally, employees could enjoy social lives by meeting with their colleagues or coworkers in a casual way.

However, not all arguments are in favor of employees to work from home. Some arguments are against of employees to work from home. Firstly, employees could get distracted easily. Secondly, companies would have difficulties to get chase of work. For example, it would be harder to monitor employee’s work procedures as the work has to be transferred through the online or through the fax. Therefore, it may not meet the company’s high standard and due to other distractions, employees might not even finish the work on time. Finally, for the social aspects of the work, employees could miss of being in the office and be socialize with other people (colleagues, customers or clients).

In conclusion, I believe that while many workers welcome the opportunity to work at home, others would find the chance to work from home very convenient. Where possible, I think the workers should be offered the choice, but not forced to work from home unless they wish to.