You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

All over the world, it is true that education has a common way of checking students and this is: tests and examinations. In this essay, I will discuss the disadvantages, if there are, of this testing system and give reasons about them by including examples from my own experience.

Test and examinations, is a very good way to check students on whether they have understood what they have been taught or not. Moreover, it shows if they are in the position to go one step further with their studies. Thus, there are some positive effects out of this testing system.

However, negative effects appears as well. Such as when students are under too much pressure during the period of exams. And as a result of this, the failure instead of a success. Another thing is that, a test is not the only proof of showing your knowledge on something. And I can say this from my own experience. Many times, I have failed in an exam because of the stress I am in and not because I am not aware of what I should answer. Conclusion? Daily preparation and participation in the class, could be named as more accurate proves on what you have achieved and done.

To sum up, a test does not evaluate the student good or bad. And this type of checking system in education, at all over the world, might be positive and useful but there is also another, negative side that should be taken into account.