1. It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is argued that adults need to punish children for behaviour management when they have done something wrong. Teaching children to tell the black from the white is significant, however, I disagree that punishment is a necessary strategy. In this essay, I will list some methods teachers and parents can use to teach children when they have some behaviour problems.

To begin with, punishment is ineffective and even harmful in most cases. Guardians realize that it is hard for children to keep in mind the lessons they have learned from being punished and the same problems may repeat in a short period. To be more specific, after suffering a physical punishment, children would be very upset at that moment but tend to forget what they had done the next day. In this case, only sore feelings would last longer and even cause some mental health issues for young people. Therefore, careers and teachers need other strategies to teach children.

To my mind, reinforcement, giving a positive choice and role modelling are three more beneficial methods to manage children’s behaviours. Firstly, adults can reinforce the desired ways that they want children to behave. For instance, when children are helping to do some chores, being honest or sharing their toys with friends, parents should praise them or give them a treat immediately. By reinforcing the good behaviours, the opposite sides will eventually disappear. Secondly, telling children another choice to solve problems in an appropriate way can also help them learn the right things. Finally, adults need to see themselves as role models and behave the way that they require children to do. Children are the fastest learners in the world, and they can pick up things randomly.

In conclusion, punishment should be abandoned by parents and teachers and more effective strategies can be applied when they teach children. Education is not hard science, but children need to be taught in a more effective way.