12.Fifeen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

While it might be true to evaluate the effectiveness of the rating system of professors to promise the school's competition with Alpha university, its unstated assumptions are rife with holes and make the author's argument vulnerable in logic.

First, the author begins with the statement that after implementing the new rating system, the grades made by professors toward students increased coincidently. Within such argument, the assumption is that these professors give higher grades so as to gain greater reputation among students and schools. Here, no data concerning these students' last year scores is given to support the writer's opinion. If last year these students grades were staying in average level, it is reasonable to assume that higher grades assignment is illegal. But on condition that in last year, the grades were at the lower, or even, the lowest point ever? Hence, to strongly validate the author's argument, citing last year grades may be a good way. Also, the words, "overall", "average", as mentioned in the passage indicates that the writer could not conduct a precise study, making the argument vague and obscure. For example, for the average word, it is easy to be challenged by an another situation, some extremely high grade occurred in easy courses may overshadow the low grades of courses esoteric. Thus, making a more precise argument needs to contain a comprehensive research.

Secondly, the author implies that the suddenly increased grades may lead to a bad impression to employers because they may consider that the grades are inflated and these students have no corresponding achievement. Here, there are rarely connections between grades and achievements, and employers have their own way to recruit potential promising students. For example, students only have to choose one of their study lives, a high GPA or a number of experiences, which means that students with high GPA usually have no more time devoting in extra experiences, as people with rich background have no it improving their GPA either. Hence, employers know how to test their ability with suitable methods.

Finally, since the author assumes that high grades make students suffer from the distrust from potential employers, their graduates would not as competitive as graduates from a nearby university, Alpha university. The author' assumptions underlying such argument are that either in past the competition of graduates from both universities is relatively the same or Alpha university's grading system is more reasonable. Unfortunately, there are no evidence are cited as the grounds of the preceding assumptions. So if the core competition of Alpha university has a large gap with that of Omega university, and if the grades made by professors are also high in the opposite university, the author's idea is going to be taken apart in that employers may no change their attitude just because of relatively scores above the average. Moreover, the decision on hiring which universities is largely based on the feedback of former employers and performances of previous employees hired form such university. So it should also be taken into account.

In a nutshell, it might be said that no convincing deduction in the passage is given, and the writer fails to take alternative evidence to complete his idea. The argument ends up with an outright untenable conclusion based on wishy-washy findings that are possible to be inaccurate. Thus, the writer fails to persuade the school to cut off the rating system.