13. Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that all the majors at university should have equal proportions of boys and girls in the name of education equity. In my mind, this change would be unrealistic and unfair.

To begin with, it is simply unrealistic to ask for the same number of university enrollments for male and female students. The number of students on a major depends on the applications an institute receives. If a university decided to fill all the courses with the same numbers of boys and girls, it would need enough applicants. In reality, some subjects are more popular with one gender than the other, and it is not practical to aim for equal proportion. For example, nursing tends to attract more females and it would be difficult to enrol an equal number of males with fifty per cent of the places on the course.

Apart from the practical concern expressed above, it would be unfair to base admission to a university on gender. University should select suitable candidates according to qualifications. In this way, both female and male students have the same opportunities and applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard at school. If a female student is the best candidate, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male with lower qualification and academic performance.

In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it would be both impractical and unfair to change the procedure based on gender.