Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Universities and colleges focus their budgets on different aspects, providing students with a better environment to learn and to grow. Some people suggest that classes and libraries deserve more money than other aspects since the main purpose for most students to attend college or university is to be educated. However, I think this is a misunderstanding. Education does not only happen in classes and libraries, and it also happens when students play sports or attend social activities. Therefore, it would be rigid to say that classes and libraries are more important or they deserve more funds.

Students can increase their knowledge of certain careers in classes, and they also learn a great deal about how to study all by themselves in libraries. College students take specialized courses and prepare themselves for the competitive job market because they know that having special skills can help them gain the upper hand while hunting for jobs. They listen to professors, do experiments, and prepare for exams and papers, so they will get relatively skilful and knowledgeable for specific jobs when they graduate. That is one of the most common reasons for students to go to college. Also, since students cannot be easily satisfied with what their professors teach in classes and professors are not always available to answer their questions, libraries become places where students go most frequently for references. Students can read books about a wide range of topics and broaden their horizons. Without additional information that students acquire by reading in libraries, they can never be fully prepared for challenges ahead.

Playing sports teaches students lessons about how to cooperate, and social activities improve their social skills. Cooperation is now needed everywhere and one of the best ways to learn about it is to play sports. Students who play sports more often will be more likely to know about the importance of respect and tolerance, and they will also be good at dominating a sentiment. Playing sports makes people less selfish by showing them the negative effects that selfishness can cause, and it also teaches people how to communicate with others efficiently because wasting time often means the loss of the game. In addition, other skills that interpersonal communication requires will be trained when students get involved in social activities. Club activities provide students with opportunities to expose themselves to people of different races and backgrounds, teaching them about how to start a conversation friendly and how to end one politely. Without such lessons, students are unlikely to survive the competition after graduation.

Students become professionally knowledgeable and skilful by taking classes and studying in libraries; they also grow socially experienced and prepared by playing sports and attending social activities. Both aspects deserve equal attention as well as equal funds.