Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to the faster transportation and higher salary, travelling aboard is not uncommon for people. There has been a debate about whether travellers should cater to local culture or locals would accept the cultural shock. From my point of view, cultural differences are not, and should never be the obstacle of travelling and communication.

It is clear to see why some people insist that guests need to learn the local culture. Being prepared before going to another country can help people not only to acquire new knowledge and to broaden horizon but also to avoid being in dangers. The differences existing in laws and regulations between two countries are dramatic. The traffic laws, for instance, are totally different between China and Australia since drivers sit in left and drive in right on the stress in China, but vice verse in Australia. It is easy for a Chinese driver to cause a tragedy because of his ignorance of the Australian situation. In this case, there is no excuse for people to violate the local rules completely.

On the other hand, local citizens should better embrace the culture lag bringing with the foreigners because it will exist forever unless the concept of ‘country’ is eliminated. It is too hard to immerge in a new and fresh environment without any previous influence in behaviours and thoughts. To show respect and hospitality, the hosts need to understand and welcome variety from other coner of the world.

About the issue, both sides can hold water. In my perspective, the disadvantages of travelling after mastering a foreign culture overweight its advantages. Actually, it may damage the local economy, which might benefit from the tourist industry. People from other countries would change their destinations if they feel a sense of offence from unfriendly hosts. In addition, taking a long time to be familiar with all rules and customs would kill their interest. In this way, fewer travellers will come to boom local economic development.

In conclusion, it is worthwhile to take considerations in both ways to stimulate international travelling. Only through opening minds and accepting conflicts can people in the country earn as many profits as possible.