Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of advanced technology, the issue of whether smartphones bring more benefits than drawbacks has been a topic of discussion for many years. While some people believe that using mobile phones exerts a negative impact on social interaction, this essay will argue that the innovation of phones has significantly bettered people’s social life.

First and foremost, the various resources that mobile phones have brought to socialization enable users to expand their social circle. In the past, people used to have limited options to meet with others, whereas there are various methods to know and make friends with common grounds with the assistance of different applications on phones nowadays. For instance, the young generation now is more likely to start friendships via social media, such as Facebook, Instagram and WeChat, chatting online without stepping out. In this case, having a smartphone helps them to start their social interaction.

Another advantage of the widespread usage of smartphones is that the quality of interaction has been improved dramatically. This gives people opportunities to communicate remotely through not only the texts but photos, voice and videos shared with each other instantly. For example, family and friends who were living overseas highly depended on video calls, which allowed them to see their situations clearly and directly, to keep in touch and maintain relationships during the COVID pandemic when international travelling was suspended in Australia. Thus, it is possible for users to enjoy a premium quality of services according to social connections with others.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that phones produce a positive, rather than detrimental effect/ influence on social interaction because it provides platforms to build and keep relationships. Globally, people will have a better social life with the sophisticated innovations of smartphones.