Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, thanks to globalization, it is not uncommon to find products from other countries. To my mind, I believe that while this trend brings various benefits for residents, it also can cause potential problems for countries.

To begin with, it is more convenient for citizens’ lives if they can access international goods and service. Customers will have richer choices when they need to buy a product and they do not have to travel overseas for foreign items. For instance, after some well-known Australian milk formula companies entered China’s market, drinking milk from Australia is accessible and affordable. Previously, parents needed to ask someone who was living in Australia to post the product for them, with a much higher price and a long waiting period. Therefore, the accessibility to foreign products makes it easier for customers who like international brands.

To consider another side, it is negative for local businesses and the economy if countries turn to extremely similar. Firstly, with the success of the international franchises, local businesses are disappearing. Take the food industry as an example. The most important reason is that increasing people, especially the younger generations, would like to eat oversea food brands, such as KFC, McDonald’s and Domino’s, rather than domestic cuisines. Many restaurants went bankrupt due to the harsh competition from the bigger companies. Moreover, the similarity may also post a detrimental impact on tourism because the unique features have been assimilating. Travellers would not like to visit a country where everything is the same as their own countries. Thus, it is terrible for countries small business and tourism.

In conclusion, globalization is both a friend and a foe for countries. When people enjoy the convivence and the comfortable life it brings with them, they should not forget the harms.