Advantage and disadvantage of playing virtual games on teenagers.

Virtual games have been highlighted an emerging issue, escaping broader public controversy due to the ramifications on young generations, especially teenagers. Despite the downsides could be pronounced, the upsides could justify these.

On the one hand, virtual games could be fraught with many pitfalls. First, Action-related virtual games are invariably associated with teenagers’ constant exposure and psychological obsessions with violent and age-restricted materials. This could be the catalyst for youngsters’ mental impairments and negative behavioural changes stemming from their cognitive immaturity, breeding their possibilities of committing juvenile delinquency. Second, since teenagers’ increased concentrations on virtual games could cause excessive addiction, the formation of sedentary inclination without any physical activities could ensue. Consequently, such exercise deficiency would fuel abnormal or excessive fat content accumulation in young generations, making obesity and other health hazards inevitable products.

On the other hand, it is true that virtual games could bestow positive benefits. First, by playing virtual games, users could interact and intermingle with other peer players of different nationalities thanks to the characteristic of wireless connection. This could suggest the causal relationship with teenagers’ expanded social cycle, thereby strengthening their social behaviours and social connections, decentivising social inhibition. In addition, if teenagers play with virtual games with their company, the development of leadership and team working skill are highly likely, which are favourable for many job specifications, feeding into better employment prospects. The reason being that virtual games require enormous increased physical concentration, context analysis , strategic planning and team co-ordination, which are proved to be the basic elements of better working skills.

In conclusion, virtual games could offer both advantages and disadvantages. However, when users play with feasible frequency, the negative implications could be significantly alleviated.