People living in large cities face several problems. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller towns?

Problems in urban areas have been attracting a great deal of public attention in recent decades. Although these issues could be pronounced, governments should not encourage the migration to smaller areas.

There are many problems when it comes to living in large cities. First, since industrial parks with manufacturing factories mostly concentrate in urban areas, the concentration of exhausted fumes is considerably high. This can make citizens more sensitive to respiratory diseases, especially tuberculosis, lung cancer, which will shorten their life expectancy. Second, the costs of living including accommodation, health care, transportation in metropolitan regions are prohibitively more expensive than those in smaller towns. It is implied that individuals with limited income cannot afford the high prices and eventually end up living in squalid conditions to save money.

Nonetheless, the migration to smaller towns could do more harm than good. First, citizens’ moving to smaller towns necessitates governments’ capital investment into installing public infrastructure as these areas are usually underfunded. This disbursement can account for the large percentage of national budget, thereby reducing funding for other social services. In addition, because the majority of workplaces locate in metropolitan areas, citizens in smaller towns have to rely on private vehicles to commute. This automobile dependency can come at the expenses of environmental costs, leading to the deterioration of already polluted atmosphere.

In conclusion, large cities could be fraught with problems such as polluted air and high living costs. However, for the interests of budget saving and environment, the migration of smaller towns should be discouraged by the official authorities.