Advantages and disadvantage of using social media

It is a universal truth that there has been an ongoing trend towards using social networking sites in recent years, prompted by the proliferation of digital devices like smartphones or tablets. In this essay, I will outline both the advantages and disadvantages of engagement in some form of social media.

On the one hand, there are myriad benefits of social networks that bring to human life. First, it is a virtual platform that could connect every people around the world. It means people can keep in touch with their friends and relatives anytime and anywhere or even find the other half of their life through the Internet. Second, people could easily keep update on the news and know what goes on with their friends. They also can show their personal life by posting some family or selfie photos and receive comments from others in the online world so that people never feel abandoned. Last but not least, using online sites could enrich people's knowledge in many aspects of life. For example, they can learn from a video on Facebook about the dire repercussion of the environmental contamination caused by human activities, and then their awareness about environmental problems will be raised.

On the other hand, joining in online social networking also do the users a disservice. Many people, especially the young generation who uses sites such as Facebook or Instagram are obsessed with their social media profile. It means they want to look as perfect as possible in their photos and try hard to improve their physical appearance. That can put a strain on not only their physical but also mental health. Another pronounced drawback is that social media are considered as a distraction that deprives the valuable time of people for family and study.

In conclusion, I believe that social media could bring both the pros and cons to people based on the ways we used it.