Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

It is widely acknowledged that there has been a drastic increase in the amount of time that children spend on watching television. Therefore children have less time taking part in active and creative activities. This trend can be ascribed to a number of reasons, and I believe that some viable measures should be taken to tackle this issue.

There are two main driving factors leading to this current trend. The primary reason could be parent have less time for their children. Nowadays, parent are occupied with the hectic schedule of work . They often have to go for work and scarcely have time to play with their children, especially outdoor activities. Therefore, they want children to focus on an activity that do not require so much attention or do not dangerous such as watching television. Another clear reason is that the heavy school curriculum also prevents students from joining active tasks. For example, nowadays most school in Viet Nam place heavy emphasis on core subject like math and science, instead of active and creative ones like sports and music. This mean student have to spent most of their time to completing written assignments therefore they have almost no time for another activities.

A number of strong measures must be implemented to tackle the issue. First, parents should restrict the amount of time that a child can watch TV and spend more time with them. Together they could engage in outdoor activities. For example parents and children could play football or badminton at weekend to help children to get away from the television. Second, school should not only focus on academic subject but also extracurricular activities to help children develop comprehensively.

In conclusion, lack of children care and overwhelming school workload have made it difficult for many children to have a healthy life. Therefore, the proposed solution should be applied to rectify this problems.