Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is obvious that advertisements are becoming more and more popular in our life. This brings us both positive and negative effects. However, I would argue that this is a positive development.

On the one hand, advertisements encourage people to buy things they do not really need. Since advertisements are colourful and lively, they can easily attract people's attention, which makes people interested in the products and arouses their demand. Therefore, they will buy the products although they are not really necessary for them. For instance, Apple's marketing and advertising campaigns have a great influence on the spending habits of young people. Many of them long to own the latest version of Iphone although their old phone still works perfectly well. Furthermore, having to spend a huge amount of money on advertising, an organisation has to increase the cost of their products and services.

On the other hand, advertisements can provide customers with a huge amount of information about products or services. As advertisements are detailed and informative, people can choose between different brands of the same product. As a result, people can make better shopping choices. For example, by watching TV commercials about different brands of shampoo products, a women can decide which one works best for her. Moreover, watching advertising pop-ups, people can raise their awareness and knowledge about product development such as technological devices.

In conclusion, there are opposing viewpoints on the effects of advertisements. However, I firmly believe that the positive sides of advertisements outweigh the negative sides.