In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one’s own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Humans’ aspiration to learn about the past has always been appealing to some demographics of society. An increasing number of people are interested in their ancestors and direct relatives. I believe that individuals who immerse into previous generations of the families may do so due to curiosity. And I reckon this is considered a positive trend since it may foster self-identity.

First of all, striving to ascertain what happened among their ancient relatives is supposed to be a new social trend since human beings possess vivid interest in their development. In other words, the questions of existence and being are regarded as highly fascinated to humans since the complexity of the latter. Therefore, not only prominent individuals provoke interest, but also close relatives of the past.

The desire to learn if someone genetically connected to you were famous or possessed some unique features is considered inherent in many of us. For example, a growing number of people crave to determine the origins by blood tests.

Furthermore, such a development may be regarded as beneficial as it raise awareness of the past, which in its turn facilitate the future. This is because, scientists reckon that the history is cyclical; therefore some events of the past are to recur in the next generations. Proceeding from this, when a person learns and establishes about the lives of their ancestors, they can draw conclusion of their behavior and what they achieved. Moreover, this projection helps provide assistance to make decisions in the contemporary world. For instance, a famous Russian writer Bulgakov being inspired by the lives of his ancestors left the big city to dwell in the rural areas as he had established that this is where his relatives lived.

To conclude, people tend to learn about the past generations due to vivid interest and this is considered a positive social trend due to the fact that the situations in the past may assist in solving the future