Technology provides us a lot of means to communicate. But now that people have the ability to talk to each other in a wider variety of methods, our communication and social abilities have taken a step back.

Why does technological advance hurt nontechnical communication?

How can we solve this problem?

Despite the innovation of different communication’s methods humanity has faced a decrease in face-to-face contacts. In this regard an opinion exists that modern society has lost the ability to build strong social ties. This essay will discuss the root reasons for the dramatically fall of intercommunication these days and propose possible solutions.

To my mind, the two main causes of the issue are the wasting time on useless activities and the irregularity of live communication. Firstly, wide access to various sources of information has defocused attention on the important. According to the research made by British scientists, modern man fails in observing time balance. Secondly, mail, different messengers and other devices create the illusion of a relationship. According to the research of the newspaper The Post, virtual communication does not satisfy all needs, as a result of which people experience deprivation.

In my opinion, the problems can be solved by minimizing the use of devices such as mobile phones and internet and by making habitual the maintenance of existing connections. Firstly, in computers, smartphones and tablets is built in a function of fixing the maximum allowable time for using a particular application. According to the research of the agency Gallup, by controlling the time of using programs, average person exempts from 2 to 6 hours per day. Secondly, the regularity of social interaction is determined by the conscious formation of a behavior model. The research on habit formation suggests that new neural connections responsible for the presence of a behavior pattern are formed in 21 days of repeating an action.

To sum up, technologies has brought some positive development in the life but also an obvious need for responsible time consumption and released time should be used for the socialization. Consciously controlling the composition and frequency of social activities, the lack of interpersonal communication will be filled.