Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the years with developing relations among nations mankind has recognized the need for foreign languages. As a result, learning a foreign language at an early age has become a controversial issue in the modern community. Society can be divided into several stratums, where one group tends to assess primary school as the most appropriate place for foreign language obtaining whilst the other ones insist on secondary school period. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the topic and give my opinion on this matter.

On the one hand, elementary school involves a lot of new and important subjects such as maths, mother tongue language, science and others. The acquisition of these disciplines is an inalienable part of children’s development while the second language can deteriorate the process. The statistic shows the majority of modern children suffer from speech disorders and it becomes a serious challenge for them to cope with the basics. For instance, my colleague works as a primary school teacher and she states a significant amount of her pupils has serious difficulties with writing skills. Thus, foreign languages at an early age can influence negatively and distract from fundamental abilities development.

On the other hand, young school boys and girls own perfect memory with which they are able to master foreign languages for a short period of time. Studying becomes one of the most involving processes where learners feel confidence without any self-consciousness or shyness and enjoy education through games. For example, many adults advise to read a book "After three it's too late" written by Japanese engineer and entrepreneur Masaru Ibuki who avers on early development as the main principle of child upbringing. In other words, the earlier schoolchildren start training, the better result they will achieve.

Taking everything into consideration, it can be concluded in the frame of contemporary lifestyle literate humans are expected to know minimum two foreign languages. Under these circumstances primary schools are the best places to enhance our children's language ability