The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Governments have been trying to maintain the balance between the facilities in social sector and the cultural environment of citizens’ lives. Many people claim that sponsorship to the intangible events is not as necessary as public services assistance by the authorities. Although the support of spiritual and cultural side of city life is valuable, investment in public services cannot be overestimated.

On the one hand, for the beholder the arts provoke strong emotions and meditation while for the creator it allows to express their soul and their talent. Artworks provide distraction and recreation for the citizens, it may create a little miracle after a long day at work. For all kind of people, arts assist to fill the life with meaning whether we consider a molder or the observer. As an example, in my own life theatre and arts has occupied a solid niche for it makes life more colorful and filled with emotions. Therefore, the administration cannot help but allocate at least some part of the budget on arts for creating bright and sound life for the citizens.

On the other hand, life is hardly bright and colorful when people are always cold or think about where to find a proper medicare. Providing plummy public services is a nessesery measure to obtain a decent living for the citizens while the art is an enough measure. People usually disturb about base needs at first, spiritual and cultural needs comes to mind when the base needs is satisfied. For instance, my friend, Asya, appreciates the arts yet she lives in a small town with bad medicare, which results in saving money on the commercial clinic instead of enjoying the paintings. Thereby, Governments should indeed invest most of the budget on social services development in order to provide high standard of living.

In conclusion, an argument in favor of demand for big investment in public services has been considered on a par with the reason to extract some budget on the moral environment. Thus, I infer that I agree with the mentioned statement in general yet at least a small budget should be remained for cultural events.