Some people believe that exploring outer space is important because it expands human knowledge and might lead to discoveries that will benefit humanity in the future. Other people believe that space exploration is a waste of money that could be better spent solving immediate problems here on Earth. Which point of view do you agree with?

The scientists have always been interested in the universe, maintaining its infinity and numerous mysteries, which are hidden behind other planets and constellations. The last century was devoted to the expand frontiers of knowledge about the outer space and. Despite the desire to learn all secrets of this world, I consider that a large number of unsolved problems on Earth should prevent governments from spending billion dollars on space programs.

To begin with, the ecological situation on our globe is getting worse each year, including such problems as increased periods of heat wave or ecosystem destruction. If this tendency continues, the mankind will need to search for another planet, where all 7,5 billion people could stay. However, the scientists have not found such alternative option in the universe, so the money, budgeted at the space programs, should be revised on behalf of the Earth problems. For example, depletion of natural resources without creation of the replacement is predicted to cause world starvation, ocean acidification in the nearest future, but Russia has spent twice less money on nature problems than on missile launches last year. Thus, to discover new universes, Earthers need to bring order on their planet.

Moreover, the burning issue nowadays is the human health risks, being uncurable diseases and previously unknown infections. The 21st century is famous for its technological progress, which, unfortunately, cannot heal all illnesses, which any person can face. Medical workers in every country should be paid handsomely, because sometimes they fight not only with flue or common cold, but also with the life-threatening sickness. For example, new corona virus has appeared in 2020 and made most of the space programs delay, while doctors and nurses are all involved in a hard and exhausting work. In other words, government must separate “essential” question from “unimportant” issues.

To conclude, the exploration of the outer space takes time from the best scientists, who could have spent it on solving more urgent problems. That means that every person should remember about the nature, which surrounds us and become more “down to earth”.