The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Since the formation of the first cities people have been thinking about how to develop their place of residence and what the directions of it can be. Proceeding from this, an opinion exists that the financing community sector is crucial and it should be on the expense of spiritual life. Although in my opinion the development of the level of population culture is extremely necessary, the assistance in creating conditions for comfortable living is a priority.

On the one hand, investing money in culture allows to improve a person’s spiritual wealth, since music and theatre develop different emotions. All this makes it possible to better understand people, their relationships and feelings. Also, thanks to art, there is an opportunity to study the history of the emergence and development of society. For example, Wilhelm Wagner was a major reformer of opera, who had a significant impact on European musical culture, especially German. Hence, people's thoughts caused by listening to music and watching pictures can affect a person’s mental well-being.

On the other hand, sponsoring the improvement of people's lives is a paramount importance for the development of humanity. Without roads, schools, hospitals and other social structures, society will not be stable and successful. Only if there is a stable provision of living conditions for the population, it is possible to further develop spiritually. For instance, Maslow's pyramid of needs shows that without satisfying the lower needs, a person will not reach the level of self-actualization. Thus, governments should devote enough attention and money to create a strong public services sector.

Taking everything into consideration, it can be concluded that the sponsorship of funds by the authorities should be competent and alternate. I also believe that in the beginning it is necessary to provide conditions for existence and then the spiritual component of a person.