Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

There are an increasing number of advertisements we are exposed to everyday. In my opinion, the development of adverts is beneficial to both companies and their customers.

Firstly, adverts help businesses significantly increase the speed of selling products. Commercials are one of the most effective tools to widely inform customers about discounts on a limited number of products in limited time, urging customers to purchase them quickly in that period. For instance, Black Fridays often draw a nearly double number of customers to supermarket because people want to take advantage of commodities sold at from 15 to 30 percent cheaper prices on those days. Furthermore, when introduced to new products with new features through the media, many consumers tend to replace their old models with a state-of-the-art ones instead of exploiting old products until they are so damaged that they cannot be used anymore. The main reason is that the commercials have successfully instilled dissatisfaction at outdated gadgets into these customers, says a psychologist.

Secondly, commercials also benefit customers by exposing them to a wide range of goods and connecting like-minded people together. If there were not advertisements, consumers would just know some products popular in their neighborhood. On the contrary, modern people are presented to numerous products and services around the world, having greater chances to choose the best ones in terms of both price and quality. Moreover, promotions can also give customers opportunities to make friends with those who have the same interests with them. For instance, to someone who has just lived in a new city for a short time, he or she can easily find a guitar course thanks to promotions, meeting others who have the same passion for this musical instrument and playing music together.

In conclusion, advertisements have positive influence on both sellers and purchasers. They not only assist companies in selling goods faster but also provide customers with a wide variety of commodities and with opportunities to have new friends with similar hobbies.