Advertisements bring many negative effects on people and the society. What are these effects? How to solve this problem?

The numbers of advertising are blooming in various forms of social media channel in the modern societies. Although it is undoubted that there are considerable negative influences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate potential issues.

With the aims to sell the brand image and persuade people to buy products, advertising may provide incorrect and exaggerated product information which may lead to serious related problems as a result. For example, people who suffer a chronic headache, instead of going to healthcare check, they trusty buy an over-advertised item which is not only useless but also worsen the situation. Additionally, advertisement manipulates people and negatively affects customer’s consumption behaviours. Actually, under the magnetism of advertising with eye-catching images and successful brand representations, audiences are easily persuaded to the lasted trends and have a tendency toward excessed consumption for wasted kinds of stuff. Additionally, children are also affected and they sometimes pressure their parents to buy them things according to the allure of advertisements.

However, there are several measures that societies could take to tackle the problems that mentioned above. Firstly, advertising should be regulated by laws and penalty forms. Businesses must be forced to provide exact information, which is especially related to product’s ingredients and functions. Secondly, children-aimed advertising, which indirectly influences children behavioural building process, have to be strictly controlled. For instance, advertisings which contain violent images and improper manner characters should no doubt be banned. More importantly, ministries are taken responsibility for ensuring carefully verified of healthy products before allowing to public advertisements and it is necessary to prohibit advertisings of harmful items such as cigarette or unhealthy foods.

To sum up, various solutions can be applied to alleviate the problems which are linked to the raising of advertisings in the developed societies.