Advertisements bring many negative effects on people and the society. What are these effects? How to solve this problem?

It is universally acknowledged that the progress of advertising can trigger some impacts on humans and society. I hold a firm conviction that there are several negative effects are attributed to advertisement and measures should be implemented.

It is undeniable that because of the demand for increasing profit, advertisement is the culprit of some serious consequences for both consumers as well as society. The first negative effect is that in order to promote commodities, a lot of companies distort the truth about their products. To illustrate, in the fierce competition in marketplaces, instead of providing reliable products’ information, companies try to exaggerate functions, benefits of goods to arouse viewers’ desire to buy them, which results in wrong decisions of customers. Secondly, in terms of society, in order to court media publicity, firms or agencies produce immodest and provocative ads. Indeed, in the technology age, there are a wide variety ways to promote products via mass media, so a lot of ads have violent and pornographic contents, especially online game ads, are popularise on the Internet, therefore, young generation may mimic these bad behavior and crime rate may be increased.

Hence, both individuals and governments should take some immediate steps to resolve these harmful effects. First of all, because people can no diminish the development of advertising, so individuals should try to become smart consumers. If people do not solely depend on information on ads and spend more time on finding useful information about goods via other people and the Internet, they may not be deceived by advertisements. An additional measure is that governments should impose censorship on advertisements’ contents. Owing to the strict monitoring of censorship, authorities can limit the number of ads has immodest contents, in the long run, this step can reduce the crime rate, especially teenagers.

In conclusion, despite the fact that advertisement can cause negative influences for customers and society. I believe that individuals and governments can tackle these problems.