Advertising encourages customers to buy in quantity not in quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The rise of technology and information tracking in recent decades has made advertisements become ubiquitous in human’s daily life, which encourages companies and individuals to use advertisements as a profitable tool. There is a notion that getting consumers to buy in quantity is what advertisements today mainly focus on. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement as although advertisements indeed often secretly trick customers into making unnecessary purchases, they sometimes offer quality products information to users as well/in some cases.

On the one hand, some people hold the notion that advertisements motivate consumers to focus on quantity rather than quality because of some reasons. Granted, many companies’ selling strategies share a noticeably common plan, which is to provide customers with special deals by purchasing more products. For example, McDonald’s offers special coupons when buying two or more of the same meal, Uniqlo offers a pack of three masks when a deal exceeds the limit of 2 million Vnd. Hence, this advertisement strategy encourages customers to spend more than necessary. As a result of these marketing strategies, many typical propositions create a tendency of buying in a large number as well as efficiently make profit for companies.

On the other hand, as believed by many people, myself included, any advertisement promotes the value of products. As claimed, a large number of notions are usually about how valuable a product is instead of how many of it can be purchased for a set number of prices. Hence, this leads to a completely different marketing strategy compared to the marketing strategy of Mc Donald, KFC, Jollibee as well as other lowkey companies, whose advertisements mainly focus on quantity. For instance, mobile phone advertisements of some tech giants such as Apple, Samsung, Huawei tend to show off features and qualities before announcing the prices. This advertisement trend creates a considerable surge in phone’s revenue.

In conclusion, some advertisements promote consumers to buy a great deal of products in order to receive extra deals or discounts. However, as believed by many people as well as me, advertisements of many companies strongly promote products’ quality and at the same making an act of purchasing redundant products seems reasonable.