Advertising industry has a huge influence on the society Do you think positive effects of advertising outweigh negative effects

Advertising is gaining more popularity in the marketing of products or services. Views differ on the implications of this industry, but I would argue that it has both negative and positive consequences to society.

On the one hand, one of the drawbacks of the advertising business is the overuse of advertisements in this era. Recent decades have witnessed the frequently appearance of forms of advertising everywhere, from the leaflets on the streets to the pop-ups on the websites. Therefore, people might be disturbed by useless information wherever they look. Another unacceptable aspect of industry of commercials is the way it encourages people to buy products they may not need or cannot afford. Children and young people are often the victims of such sophisticated advertising campaigns. They are vigorously attracted by the latest toys, clothing or food and this may put enormous pressure on their parents to accommodate their excessive requests.

However, apart from these drawbacks above, advertising industry also bring a wide range of benefits for society. Firstly, thanks to advertisements, can customers be informed about newly-launched products. In other words, they are aware of the array of selections available to their demands; otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. Secondly, it is undeniable that advertising campaigns make significant contributions to increase brand awareness. Therefore, companies are able to approach prospective customers, promoting temporary sales and capturing more market share. On a large scale, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and customers, giving rise to the consumer society.

In conclusion, while advertising industry cause a wide range of negative points to society, I believe that both consumers and business are brought benefit from it.