Advertising industry has a huge influence on society. Do you think the positive effects of advertising outweigh negative effects?

Advertising is gaining more popularity in the marketing of products or services. Views differ on the implications of this industry, but I would argue that it has both negative and positive consequences to society.

Indeed, one of the drawbacks of the advertising business is the overuse of advertisements in this era. Recent decades have witnessed the frequent appearance of forms of advertising everywhere, from leaflets on the streets to pop-ups on the websites. It is very difficult for people to escape influence since they are constantly bombarded by adverts which create desires and affect buying habits. Another unacceptable aspect of industry of commercials is the way it encourages consumers to buy products they may not need or cannot afford. This could lead people to waste their money on useless products instead of more important spending.

However, advertising industry also bring a wide range of benefits to society. Firstly, thanks to advertisements, customers can be informed about newly launched products. In other words, with advertisements, they will be aware of the array of selections available to their demands; otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. Secondly, it is undeniable that advertising campaigns make significant contributions to brand awareness. Therefore, this would bring new and returning customers, promoting temporary sales and capturing more market share. Finally, advertisement some times change the mind of a person about items they never feel of buying. For instance, after the advertisements of soymilk appeared on TV in 2012, a lot of men realized that consuming this product does not harm their health as they thought.

In conclusion, while advertising industry can cause a wide range of negative effects to society, I believe that both consumers and business will definitely benefit from it.